Tennis

May 23, 2009

Tiger Doubles Team Beats Top Seed in Quarterfinals

 

San Antonio - The Trinity University Tigers team of sophomores Bobby Cocanougher and Cory Kowal upset the top-seeds Saturday in the NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships doubles quarterfinals.

Cocanougher, of Southlake, Texas (Southlake); and Kowal, of Austin, Texas (Anderson); took out Mike Burdakin and John Kauss of Gustavus Adolphus 6-3, 6-2 at Biszantz Family Tennis Center.

The Tiger duo is the first Trinity team to reach the NCAA semifinals since 2001, when Sloan Rush and Ed Rahn advanced to the championship match.

Cocanougher and Kowal will meet Jamie Neely and Oscar Pena of Bowdoin, at approximately 3 p.m. Central Time (1 p.m. Pacific) Sunday. The winner advances to the championship match at 6 p.m. Central (4 p.m. Pacific).

In Saturday’s quarterfinals, Cocanougher and Kowal held their serve in every game. The Tiger players broke the Gustavus team at two crucial points in the match, at 5-3 in the first set and 5-2 in the second.

Cocanougher and Kowal, both All-Americans, won the Intercollegiate Tennis Association regional doubles crown last fall.

Trinity is led by Butch Newman, in his 23rd year at the Tigers helm.

 

Questions or comments:
athletics@trinity.edu

 

One Trinity Place, San Antonio, Texas 78212-7200
(210) 999-8237 fax: (210) 999-8292

© 2004 Trinity University. All rights reserved.