Meet Danny Anderson

Danny J. Anderson, Ph.D., joined Trinity in 2015 as the University’s 19th president, with a vision to ensure that Trinity is recognized as the model of 21st century liberal arts and sciences education.

Danny Anderson is an engaged leader in higher education and in the community at large. Prior to joining Trinity University, Anderson was dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Kansas. An award-winning teacher and scholar of Mexican literature with a reputation as a highly effective leader, Anderson is the recipient of a number of awards and fellowships, including the ING Award for Teaching Excellence, a W.T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence, and a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship for University Teachers.

He began his academic career at the University of Texas at Austin as an assistant professor of Spanish. He joined the University of Kansas faculty in 1988 and was named full professor in 2003. He has also served as chair of the department of Spanish and Portuguese, associate dean of the College for Interdisciplinary Programs, vice provost for academic affairs, and interim provost and executive vice chancellor.

A native Texan, Anderson was born in Houston and lived most of his formative years in Rusk, Texas. He received a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish from Austin College, and a master’s and doctorate in Spanish from the University of Kansas.

Anderson and his wife, Kimberly, a teacher, librarian, and community volunteer, are parents to two adult children and a dachshund named Willy.

Danny and Kimberly Anderson pose with their dog, Willy

The President's Corner

Read president's letters and community messages, and watch President Anderson's video blogs.

The President's Corner

As Trinity's chief storyteller, I love to hear and share stories from fellow Tigers. Feel free to contact me at or follow me on Twitter @TU_President19.

cover of 2020-21 president's report reads "A Year of Resilience"


A Year of Resilience

Trinity University's 2020-2021 annual report and State of the University explores key university initiatives, including: student and faculty success; diversity, equity, and inclusion; alumni giving and participation; and community engagement.

Read the President's Report

Trinity, Tomorrow.

Now it its ninth of ten years, the Trinity University strategic plan, Trinity Tomorrow, sharpens the University's institutional identity. Upon completion, the University will provide a comprehensive report of successes and next steps.

Trinity Tomorrow Plan (PDF)