Application Deadline


  Award Type


  Award Amount





Awarded exclusively to students of sociology who are in good academic standing and demonstrate considerable academic merit. For nearly two decades, the department of sociology and anthropology has awarded its C. Wright Mills Award, the highest honor it confers, to a junior or senior sociology major whose work best exemplifies the theories and methods of the field. The recipient will have best demonstrated the "sociological imagination," Mills' (1916-1962) notion of understanding the intersections of biography with history, how what individuals sense to be personal problems are often derived from broad historical change and institutional contradictions.


  Who is eligible:

Junior and Senior Sociology students

  Who is not eligible:

First-year, Sophomores, and students not majoring in Sociology or graduate students

  How to Apply

No separate application required

  Important Details

Selection Criteria

Students cannot apply to receive the Mills Award; Awardees are selected by the SOAN department faculty.

Faculty nominations are based on the student's academic record and demonstrated commitment to the field.

For more information about selection criteria, please contact the Department of Sociology and Anthropology