Application Deadline


  Award Type


  Award Amount





Awarded exclusively to students of anthropology who are in good academic standing and demonstrate considerable academic merit. Margaret Mead, for years among the best known women in the world, was also the best known anthropologist, with a particular talent for bringing anthropology fully into the light of public attention. The Margaret Mead Award, initiated by the Society for Applied Anthropology in 1979, and awarded jointly with the American Anthropological Society since 1983, continues to celebrate the tradition of bringing anthropology to bear on wider social and cultural issues. The recipient of the Margaret Mead Award at Trinity is an anthropology major in their junior or senior year who has shown outstanding achievements in anthropology. The awardee is chosen annually by the faculty of the sociology and anthropology department.


  Who is eligible:

Junior and Senior Anthropology students

  Who is not eligible:

First-year, sophomores, and students not majoring in Anthropology

  How to Apply

No separate application required

  Important Details

Selection Criteria

Students cannot apply to receive the Mead Award; Awardees are selected by the SOAN department faculty.

Faculty nominations are based on the student's academic record and demonstrated commitment to the field.

For more information about selection criteria, please contact the Department of Sociology and Anthropology