Application Deadline

  Award Type


  Award Amount

$ 2,000 annually


First Year


Awarded to National Merit Finalists who designate Trinity University as their first-choice college with the National Merit Corporation. National Merit Scholarship recipients may also be considered for the National Merit Corporate Trinity Scholarship.


  Who is eligible:

Undergraduate, entering first-year students who are National Merit Finalists.

  Who is not eligible:

Transfer, continuing, or graduate students

Test scores:

Standardized Test Scores (Optional)
Trinity does not have a preference for ACT or SAT. Trinity uses the highest test scores for each test and subtests submitted for consideration.


Awards are determined based on the official high school transcript and rigor of curriculum. Core GPAs are recalculated on an unweighted 4.0 scale.

 Explore further: Trinity’s Student Profile

  How to Apply

No separate application required


Designate Trinity as your first choice

Applicants must designate Trinity University as their first college choice with the National Merit Corporation.




Apply to Trinity by Regular Decision

Apply for Trinity undergraduate admission through any application type.


Feb. 1, 2022

  Important Details

Selection Criteria
  • Must be a National Merit Finalist.
  • Consideration will be given through the standard admissions process.
  • Academic scholarships recipients are selected without regard to income.
Renewal Information
Additional Details
  • Scholarships are applied toward fall and spring tuition only, and are not available for summer study.
  • Scholarships do not require repayment.


Application process and admission:

Admissions and Aid
Northrup Hall