17 Area Teachers Receive Trinity Prize in Teaching
Time-honored tradition recognizes the hard work of educators
Monday, May 23, 2022
17 San Antonio-area teachers stand in Parker Chapel

On May 6, 17 extraordinary San Antonio teachers were awarded the prestigious Trinity Prize in Teaching. First awarded in 1982, the prize is widely recognized across districts and schools as a tremendous honor for individuals and a collective call for professional recognition of educators and Pre-K-12 and post-secondary education in our city and region.

This year’s in-person event featured the honorees’ respective school principals and district superintendents. The National Teacher of the Year, Juliana Urtubey, spoke and the event partner—Whataburger—and Trinity’s undergraduate and graduate students were in attendance. Additionally, the ceremony was livestreamed for the teachers’ school campuses, district offices, and families and friends. 

The winners of this year’s prize received a Tiffany Crystal Apple as a gift from the University and the Office of President Danny Anderson. In addition, they received from Whataburger a $500 cash prize, a $250 Amazon gift card for a student organization or effort of their selection at their school or in the community that supports diversity and inclusion in education, and a Whataburger gift basket, including Whataburger for a year. The Department of Education and Center for Educational Leadership awarded an additional $150 Amazon gift card for classroom supplies. 

One recipient, Rebecca Roberts, is a Pre-K through 4th grade teacher at Woodlake Elementary in Judson ISD. She says, “I became a teacher because teachers are where all other jobs and careers begin, and I wanted to be a part of something bigger than myself. I feel honored to be a part of the community that helps to continue to make the world a better place.”

2022 Trinity Prize in Teaching Excellence Honorees

Julie Allen-Ruiz
Ft. Sam Houston Independent School District
Ft. Sam Houston Elementary
Subject: Pre-Kindergarten 

Kristy Archibald
Lackland Independent School District 
Lackland Elementary 
Subject: Kindergarten

Kristin Ashley 
Winston School San Antonio 
Subject: Lower School (Reading, Language Arts and Math)

Terrena Bernal 
Southside Independent School District
Heritage Elementary School 
Subject: 5th grade STEAM

Christen Cozart 
San Antonio Independent School District
Young Women’s Leadership Academy
Subject: U.S. History 

Heidi Curry 
North East Independent School District
Driscoll Middle School 
Subject: Science and PALS

Shalonda Davis 
Comal Independent School District
Canyon High School 
Subject: Science and Student Leadership 

Judy Hudson 
Northside Independent School District
Dr. Linda G. Mora Elementary
Subject: Music 

Regina Kazmir 
Edgewood Independent School District
Las Palmas Leadership School for Girls
Subject: Music 

Clarissa Kretz
Harlandale Independent School District
Stonewall Flanders Elementary & Fenley Center
Subject: Instructional Support

Roger Lawson
East Central Independent School District
Oak Crest Elementary 
Subject: Math, Science, and Social Studies

Alejandra Martinez 
Alamo Heights Independent School District 
Cambridge Elementary 
Subject: Spanish 

David Padilla 
South San Antonio Independent School District
Dwight Middle School 
Subject: STEM

Rebecca Roberts
Judson Independent School District
Woodlake Elementary
Subject: Pre-K through 4th teacher

Julie Schanberger 
Southwest Independent School District 
Southwest High School 
Subject: Physics 

Heather Strable 
Randolph Field Independent School District
Randolph Elementary
Subject: Kindergarten

Rachel Trimmer
Somerset Independent School District
Somerset Junior High 
Subject: Science

Matilda Krell '23 helps tell Trinity's story as a writing intern for Trinity University Strategic Communications and Marketing.

You might be interested in