President Vanessa B. Beasley in her full regalia smiles outside
Imagination Ignited
Trinity celebrates the investiture of its 20th president

With confidence, curiosity, and creativity, Trinity University plays a transformative role in our world’s future—and President Beasley is leading the charge.

Ignite your imagination with the Trinity community and friends of the University during the formal academic ceremony in which President Vanessa B. Beasley, Ph.D., will be conferred with the authority of the office.

But don’t let the word “formal” keep you away: The investiture is a celebration worthy of bright sparks of joy. At the ceremony, which will take place on Saturday, Feb. 11, at 10:30 a.m. in Laurie Auditorium, the Trinity community will receive the charge—and President Beasley will, too. Mayor Ron Nirenberg ’99 will offer encouragement on behalf of the City of San Antonio, and Danny Nguyen ’24, president of the Student Government Association, will offer support on behalf of the student body. Chad Spigel, Ph.D., religion professor and chair of the Faculty Senate, will represent the faculty, and Katie Ramirez, director of the Center for Experiential Learning and Career Success and president of the Trinity Staff Engagement Committee, will represent the staff. Nadia Islam ’12, president of the Trinity University Alumni Association Board, will bring heartfelt greetings on behalf of Trinity University alumni. 

The marshals for the ceremony are Kelly Grey Carlisle, Ph.D., Nels Christiansen, Ph.D., Matthew Hibbs, Ph.D., Dany Munoz Pinto, Ph.D., Patrick Shay ’03, M’05, Ph.D., Orrin Shindell, Ph.D., Lauren Turek, Ph.D., Dennis Ugolini, Ph.D., Rita Urquijo-Ruiz, Ph.D., and Diana Young, Ph.D.

And where there’s celebration, there’s food and festivity—in true Trinity fashion. Join the entire community for a reception at the “Conversation with Magic Stones” immediately following the investiture ceremony. Meet higher education delegates from across the nation, reconnect with alumni and former faculty, and offer congratulations to our 20th president.

Attendees for the ceremony and reception may park in the Laurie Auditorium Parking Garage, which has designated levels for permit holders and visitor parking on the Orange level and Lot B. The parking garage also has elevators and accessible parking spaces available on all levels.

There will be reserved wheelchair seating and accessible seating in all the venues, and Laurie Auditorium is wheelchair accessible at all building entrances. There are two wheelchair ramps: One is located on the west side of the auditorium, closest to the library, and the other is located in the courtyard. There are two elevators located in the auditorium with braille signage: One is located near the east end of the auditorium, and the other is located at the main center of the auditorium.

Explore Event Details 


For 150 years, Trinity University has transformed challenge into boundless opportunity. Join the force in motion at

You might be interested in