teacher in black dress with prizes
Trinity Prize in Teaching Excellence Honors 17 Area Educators
Honorees told to soar for having made a difference
Monday, May 17, 2021

Seventeen teachers from the local San Antonio area were recognized for outstanding performance in public education by receiving the 2021 Trinity University Prize in Education at a special limited in-person, socially-distanced presentation in Laurie Auditorium on the University’s campus. 

These committed educators were chosen by their school district for their commitment and passion for education. Among the criteria for inclusion on the list is outstanding classroom performance, leadership in the school and school district, leadership in the education profession, and outstanding service.

“This is a joyful celebration for us each year at Trinity when we get to come together to honor these distinguished educators and to celebrate all of our teachers and the essential role that they play in this community, our state, our nation, and in the world,” said Angela Breidenstein, Ed.D. professor and chair of Trinity’s Department of Education. “For the last year–through the pandemic–we recognize and honor all educators who, in the face of challenge, rose up and responded to the call for our profession to step up in even more integral, responsive, inventive, and needed ways.” 

Each recipient was presented with a traditional Tiffany & Co. crystal apple engraved with their name and a City of San Antonio proclamation signed by Mayor Ron Nirenberg ’99. In addition, the Whataburger Foundation, the Trinity Prize event sponsor, presented each teacher with a $500 cash prize to help offset personal costs in their classroom, a $150 Amazon gift card for classroom resources and supplies, a $250 cash award (or Amazon gift card) for a student organization or effort of their choice that supports inclusion and diversity, along with Whataburger coupons for their students and schools.  

Trinity Vice President for Academic Affairs Deneese Jones, Ph.D., offered a hearty congratulations to all the honorees. “Through the selection process, you have been deemed worthy of these recognitions and awards so go ahead and bask in the appreciation and acknowledgement of a job well done. Today is not the day for you to be shy; instead, kick up your heels and soar with the realization that you have made a difference!”

During the ceremony, the 2020 National Teacher of the Year, Tabatha Rosporoy, delivered the Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching lecture. Rosporoy, who is from Winfield, Kansas, has used her platform to promote the importance of early childhood education and the need for social-emotional learning for all students.  

The Trinity Prize in Teaching Excellence is affiliated with the Department of Education’s Center for Educational Leadership (CEL), which was established in 1982, the same year the first the Prize was awarded. Since then, the CEL has provided thought leadership, innovative leadership programs, and professional development for the school districts. 

For more information contact, Trinity’s Department of Education at 210-999-7501.

Teachers holding Whataburger check

2021 Trinity Prize in Teaching Excellence Honorees:

Alamo Heights Independent School District

Bryan Stanton

Alamo Heights High School 

Subject: Theater 


Comal Independent School District 

Jessica Watson Coleman 

Freiheit Elementary School

Subject: Art


East Central Independent School District

Riley Jones

Legacy Middle School

Subject: 8th Grade Algebra 


Edgewood Independent School District

Ryan Mattis

Winston Elementary

Subject: 4th Grade 


Ft. Sam Houston Independent School District

Francisco Serrata

Robert G. Cole Middle School and High School, 

Subject: Sports Medicine and Athletic Trainer


Harlandale Independent School District

 Annie Zoll

Kingsborough Middle School

Subject: 8th Grade Math


IDEA Public Schools

Caitlin McCloskey

IDEA South Flores College Preparatory

Subject: IB, Theory of Knowledge grades 1 & 2 


Judson Independent School District

Bonnie Anderson

Miller's Point Elementary School

Subject: Music Education


Lackland Independent School District

Danielle Rabidas

Virginia Allred Stacy Junior and Senior High School

Subject: High School Math


North East Independent School District

Stephanie Carrier

Churchill High School

Subject: AP World History  


Northside Independent School District

Gustavo Treviño

Pat Neff Middle School

Subject: 8th Grade Communication Applications


Randolph Field Independent School District 

Audra Mitchell

Randolph Field Elementary School

Subject: 1st Grade 


San Antonio Independent School District

Adriana Abundis

Sidney Lanier High School

Subject: Algebra, Dual Language Algebra and Mexican American Studies  


Somerset Independent School District

Juan Dominguez

Somerset Elementary School

Subject: 4th Grade


Southside Independent School District

Israel Del Valle

JJ Matthey Middle School

Subject: 8th Grade Math

Southwest Independent School District

Christine Bendele

Kriewald Road Elementary School

Subject: 5th Grade


Winston School San Antonio

Brenda Lane

The Winston School San Antonio

Subject: Middle School Reading, Texas History, and American History


Carla Sierra is the public relations manager for Trinity University Strategic Communications and Marketing.

You might be interested in