Since 1776

Oldest Academic Honor Society 

The Phi Beta Kappa Society (ΦΒΚ or PBK) is the nation's oldest and most prestigious academic honor society. Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. The Epsilon of Texas Chapter at Trinity University was founded in 1974 and is one of only 270 chapters in the United States.

Election to Phi Beta Kappa is a prestigious honor - one that will remain on your resume long after other accolades have been removed.

Logo for Phi Beta Kappa

Election Process

Only students at a college or university may be inducted into Phi Beta Kappa. Membership is invitation-only and contingent upon fulfillment of minimum requirements; there is no application process. Selection of student members, or members-in-course, is generally made in the senior year, although some juniors are elected each year.


Minimum Requirements

The criteria for election to Phi Beta Kappa are determined by the Chapter under guidelines of the national organization. In order to be considered for election into Trinity’s chapter of PBK, students must meet these minimum requirements:


Completion of 60 credit hours of primarily liberal arts coursework at Trinity University.


Completion of an intermediate level or above course* in mathematics, logic, or statistics.


Completion of an intermediate level or above course* in a foreign language.


Meet the minimum grade point average (GPA) requirement, as set by the Chapter each year.

* course must be at the college level (placement exam credit does not count) and completed for a grade, not for pass/fail credit.

Logo for Phi Beta Kappa in Black and White

An invitation to join Phi Beta Kappa recognizes and honors exceptional academic achievement in the arts and sciences.

Chapter Officers

Please contact a chapter officer if you have questions about the Trinity chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, eligibility criteria, or the election process.


Vice President

Jason Johnson, Ph.D.

Faculty and Staff Members

Alan Astro, Modern Languages & Literature

Curtis Brown, Philosophy

Richard Butler, Economics

Kelly Grey Carlisle, English

Erwin Cook, Classical Studies

Courtney Cunningham, Strategic Communications & Marketing

Andrew Hansen, Speech & Drama

David Hough, Physics & Astronomy

Thomas Jenkins, Classical Studies

Jason Johnson, History

Michele Johnson, Biology

Andrew Kraebel, English

Glenn Kroeger, Geosciences

Steven Luper, Philosophy

Corina Maeder, Chemistry

Kealey Mallott, Admissions

Berna Massingill, Computer Science

Randall Nadeau, Religion

Gary Neal, Counseling Services

Chris Nolan, Library

Judith Norman, Philosophy

Patricia Norman, Education

Kathryn O'Rourke, Art History

Timothy O'Sullivan, Classical Studies

Neal Pape, Information Technology Services

David Rando, English

Richard Reams, Counseling Services

Daniel Spiegel, Physics

Benjamin Stevens, Classical Studies

Matthew Stroud, Modern Languages & Literature

Heather Sullivan, Modern Languages & Literature

Curtis Swope, Modern Languages & Literature

Adam Urbach, Chemistry

Ben Vaughan, Economics

Michael Ward, Modern Languages & Literature