Northrup hall and miller fountain and Murchison tower
Trinity Recognizes Faculty and Staff for Significant Career Milestones
Virtual event carries on a tradition of celebrating a decade or more of service

While the circumstances might be different, the sentiment remains the same as Trinity prepares to recognize faculty and staff who are marking important career milestones at the University. In all, 86 employees this year are celebrating anniversaries of 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, or 40 years of service at Trinity. Normally an intimate gathering in the Margarite Parker Chapel, this year the service will air virtually on Jan. 21 at 3:30 p.m. on Tiger Network.

“For nearly a year, every member of our faculty and staff have demonstrated extraordinary dedication and resoluteness in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic,” says Danny J. Anderson, University president. “Today, we wish to recognize those who have upheld Trinity’s values for a decade or more of service. On behalf of the entire University, I want to thank them for their long standing commitment.” 

It was just over a year ago that Trinity was in the midst of a year-long celebration of its 150th Anniversary. That celebration showcased Trinity’s resilience through a century and a half of seemingly insurmountable obstacles. No one knew then that remembering past challenges would help the University prepare for the future that 2020 brought.

“I remain confident that we will conquer our current challenges by relying on our time-tested values of discovery, impact, excellence, the individual, and community,” Anderson says. “Community is especially important as we learn to adapt important events—such as this one—into something where we can still recognize the important contributions that our employees have made.”

The list of employees celebrating career milestones is below. View the program for the service awards online.


Nina Ekstein, Modern Languages & Literatures
Donna Kaminski, Library
Grace Martinez, Purchasing
Israel Perez, Facilities Services
Yolanda Rodriguez, Information Technology Services
Roger Spencer, Economics
Charles White, Psychology

Alan Astro, Modern Languages & Literatures
Kevin Hawkins ’84, Laurie Auditorium
Julie Jenkins, Athletics
Paul Myers, Computer Science
David Pape, Information Technology Services

Beatrice Caraway, Library
Martin Chapa, Facilities Services
Denise Covert, Human Resources
Stephen Field, Modern Languages and Literatures
Timothy Francis, Human Communication and Theatre
Julio Hasfura-Buenaga, Mathematics
John McGrath, Human Communication and Theatre
Randall Nadeau, Religion
Kate Ritson, Art and Art History
Carolyn True, Music
Pedro Vasquez, Facilities Services

Jennifer Adamo, Risk Management
Ino Covarrubias, Facilities Services
John Hermann, Political Science
Stephen Perez, Information Technology Services
Heather Sullivan, Modern Languages and Literatures

Lisa Chapa, Residential Life
Jane Childers, Psychology
Jane Costanza, Library
Irma De Leon, Sociology and Anthropology
Andrew Doty, Admissions
Michael Fischer, English
Babette Guajardo, Modern Languages and Literatures
Jodi Karjala, Human Communication and Theatre
Stacey Lenderman, Athletics
Minerva Lopez, Counseling Services
Justin Parker ’99, Athletics
Sarah Pinnock, Religion
Clint Ratliff, TU Police Department
Alfred Rodriguez, Registrar
John Rowse, TU Police Department
Jacob Tingle ’95, Experiential Learning Office
Adrienne Tovar, Annual Giving Programs
Randall Wallace, Art and Art History

JoAnn Ayari, Modern Languages and Literatures
Rocio Delgado, Education
Christopher Esquivel, Facilities Services
Eric Gonzalez, Information Technology Services
Juan Gonzalez, Facilities Services
Laura Hunsicker-Wang, Chemistry
Carl Jeffrey, Mail Center
Amy Johnson, Student Involvement
Andrew Kania, Philosophy
Jack Leifer, Engineering Science
Russell McMindes ’02, Athletics
Kathy McNeill, Annual Giving Programs
Roberto Prestigiacomo, Human Communication and Theater
Benjamin Surpless, Geosciences
Betsy Tontiplaphol, English
Cynthia Uviedo ’93, Annual Giving Programs
Tammy Weiblen, Business Office

Dania Abreu-Torres, Modern Languages and Literatures
Dennis Ahlburg, Economics
Leticia Argueta, Information Technology Services
James Baker, Facilities Services
Eve Christoffersen, Registrar
Jorge Colazo, Finance and Decision Sciences
Kory Cook, KRTU Radio Station
Courtney Crim ’93, M’94, Education
Yvonne Gonzales, Dean of Students Office
Anne Graf, Library
Lawrence Kim, Classical Studies
Daniel Lehrmann, Geosciences
Alfred Montoya ’03, Sociology and Anthropology
Maria Oviedo, Registrar
Maria Pia Paganelli, Economics
Thomas Payton, TU Press
Ivan Pendergast, TU Police Department
Kelly Rodriguez, Information Technology Services
Jennifer Rowe, Student Success Center
Ricardo Santos, Economics
Joshua Schwartz, Engineering Science
Frances Simmons, Academic Affairs
Yu Chun Wu, Modern Languages and Literatures


Ted Gartner '91 helps tell Trinity's story as a member of Strategic Communications and Marketing.

You might be interested in