Areas of Study

Break New Ground

The department of geosciences offers degree programs in geosciences and in Earth systems. The curriculum includes core classes in environmental and physical geology, Earth history, solid Earth processes, Earth surface processes, hydrogeology, and structural geology, combined with a diverse range of electives. We stress field work in all appropriate classes at all levels.


two students take notes while another looks at rock samples under a microscope

The study of geosciences provides Tigers an understanding of Earth’s systems and the transformation of those systems through time.  Tigers learn about the exploration and conservation of natural resources as well as human environmental impacts upon the Earth. The department offers two concentrations in the B.S., including a concentration in Geology and a concentration in Environmental Geosciences.

Geosciences (B.S.) Geosciences (Minor) 

two students look at a chart on the edge of a cliff inside a large canyon
Earth Systems Science 

Earth System Science draws on chemistry, physics, biology, mathematics and applied sciences in an effort to understand the chemical, physical, biological and human influences on our planet. The major is ideal for students seeking a fundamental understanding of geosciences and the flexibility to pursue intensive study in other disciplines.

​​​ Earth Systems Science (B.A.)

​ ​


Keck Consortium
The Keck Consortium consists of geology departments at 17 liberal arts colleges scattered across the United States. The main sources of funding for the Consortium come from the National Science Foundation and each of the Consortium colleges.

Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology
The Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology is a university research consortium dedicated to exploring the Earth's interior through the collection and distribution of seismographic data. IRIS programs contribute to scholarly research, education, earthquake hazard mitigation, and the verification of a Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty.

Associated Colleges of the South
The Associated Colleges of the South is a consortium of 16 private liberal arts colleges and universities. The consortium's central office is in Atlanta, GA, while the ACS Technology Center is located at Southwestern University in Georgetown, TX.